BMW engine of the year winner

Multiple Engine of the Year awards for BMW

The Bavarians are seriously capable when it comes to engine building. We say it and a lot of people who aren’t necessarily fans also say it.

Today we also got some confirmation from a panel of journalists that actually know what they’re doing. The guys behind the Car of the Year awards may have no clue but the guys behind the Engine of the Year sure do.

BMW engine of the year winner
BMW engine of the year winner

The grand prize winner was Ford’s 1.0 liter EcoBoost turbocharged three cylinder which took three categories.

Best performance engine went to Ferrari for the 4.5 liter V8 engine in the 458 and there were a few exceptions in the smaller categories.

Otherwise, BMW have once again dominated the whole affair. They got the 1.4 liter to 1.8 liter engine for the engine they put in the Mini.

BMW engine of the year winner
BMW engine of the year winner

Then BMW won the 1.8 liter to 2 liter category for the N20 engine they put in the Z4, the X1 and a host of other models.

The creme-de-la-creme was the 2.5 liter to 3 liter category where BMW’s 3.0 liter straight six TwinPower turbo from the 1 Series M Coupe won.

However, In the same category BMW also got second, third and fourth place for the rest of their 3.0 liter engines regardless of the fuel they use.

BMW engine of the year winner
BMW engine of the year winner

Here’s another impressive achievement. BMW also won the 3.0 liter to 4.0 liter category with the engine in the M3. That’s remarkable given how the E93 M3 is soon to go out of production and that engine is now five years old.

Winning this category when you’re a five year old engine is like winning the Mr Universe contest when you’re a 50 year old.

Well done BMW.


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
BMW i Store Previous post BMW i Store opened in London
BMW i8 Next post BMW i8 pricing estimated
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x